People

Sarah Asinari
SLAC Trainee
Linguistics
Syntax, Morphology, English dialectal variation,
synchronic language variation, Wh-questions, numeral systems
sarah.asinari@uconn.edu

 

Megan Chiovaro
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Communication, coordination, collective intelligence, decision making

Jason Crutcher
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Optimal Outcomes in Autism Spectrum Disorder, Psycholinguistics of Autism Spectrum Disorder, Cognitive neuropsychology of pragmatic language
jason.crutcher@uconn.edu

Pamela Fuhrmeister
SLAC Trainee
Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
Speech sound learning,  memory consolidation, Acquisition of
difficult non-native speech sounds in adults and children
pamela.fuhrmeister@uconn.edu

Nikole Giovannone
SLAC Trainee
Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
Speech Perception, Prosody, Functional Plasticity, and Electrophysiology
nikole.giovannone@uconn.edu

Brittney Hernandez
SLAC Trainee
Educational Psychology
Research Methods, Measurement, and Evaluation (RMME)
Research on Evaluation (RoE) and Assessment Literacy

Nathan Lautz
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Cognitive neuroscience of concepts, grounded cognition, semantic control, the neural basis of language 
nathan.lautz@uconn.edu

Sahil Luthra
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Speech, Language, Learning, Words, Perception, Neuroscience
sahil.luthra@uconn.edu

Amanda Mankovich

Amanda Mankovich
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Learning, Attention, Language, Coordination,  Exploration, and Infancy
amanda.mankovich@uconn.edu

Shireena McGee
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Reasoning & Problem Solving, Early Childhood Cognitive
Development, Learning, Educational Psychology, Embodied
Cognition, Executive Functioning Development in Preschool
shireena.mcgee@uconn.edu

Ruth Mcleod
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Behavioral NeuroScience
Hypoxic-Ischemic Brain Injury and Behavioral Outcomes
ruth.mcleod@uconn.edu

Oliver McNeil
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Perception, Action & Cognition
Structural and functional correlates of pathological cognition,
Language disorders,
Neurodevelopment
and plasticity, Computational modeling

oliver.mcneil@uconn.edu

 

Hannah Mechtenberg
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Language & Cognition
Analogical Reasoning, Learning, Motivation, Language, Education, Neuroscience
hannah.mechtenberg@uconn.edu

Hannah Morrow
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Perception, Action & Cognition
Neural organization of semantic memory
hannah.morrow@uconn.edu

 

Ashley Parker
SLAC Trainee
Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
Typical/Atypical Language Development, Auditory Processing
ashley.parker@uconn.edu

Joselyn Perez
SLAC Trainee
Educational Psychology
Achievement gaps regarding English Language Learners and self-efficacy of bilingualism
joselyn.perez@uconn.edu

 

Peter Perrino
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Behavioral Neuroscience & Neurodevelopmental Disorders
peter.perrino@uconn.edu

Maddie Quam
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
language emergence, homesign, sign languages, number cognition

Kirsten Reyna
SLAC Trainee
Educational Psychology
Research Methods, Measurement, and Evaluation (RMME)
Measurement, Assessment & Learning
kirsten.reyna@uconn.edu

Jennifer Richardson
SLAC Trainee
Research Methods, Measurement, and Evaluation (RMME)
Structural Equation Modeling
Hierarchical Linear Modeling
Learning Growth Modeling
Neuropsychology  Bayesian Statistics
jennifer.ichardson@uconn.edu

David Saltzman
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Perception, Action & Cognition
Neural bases of speech perception, distributional learning of speech sound categories, adaptation to talker specific speech input
david.saltzman@uconn.edu

Ryan Troha
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Learning, Memory, Social, Behavioral Neuroscience
ryan.troha@uconn.edu

Katherine (Kara) Vlahcevic
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Development of Reading and Learning Disabilities in Children
Different Neuroimaging Techniques: MRI, EEG

Impact of Remediation Training
katherine.vlahcevic@uconn.edu

Amanda Wadams
SLAC Trainee
Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences
Attention, Working Memory, Executive Function and
Metacognition in people with Aphasia
amanda.wadams@uconn.edu

Noelle Wig
SLAC Trainee
Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences
Bilingualism, Cross-Linguistic Interactions, Sentence Processing, Electrophysiology

Emily Yearling
SLAC Trainee
Psychological Sciences
Event cognition, episodic memory, development, and object representation
emily.yearling@uconn.edu

SLAC Core Team

 


Stormy Chamberlain

Co-Principal Investigator
Genetics and Genome Sciences
chamberlain@uchc.edu

Marie Coppola

Marie Coppola
SLAC Core Faculty
Psychological Sciences
marie.coppola@uconn.edu


Inge-Marie Eigsti

SLAC Core Faculty
Psychological Sciences
Psycholinguistics in autism spectrum disorder (ASD): Language development,conversational
gestures, discourse and executive processes, prosody; Implicit learning and long-term
outcomes in ASD; functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI)

inge-marie.eigsti@uconn.edu


R. Holly Fitch

SLAC Core Faculty
Psychological Sciences
Roslyn.H.Fitch@uconn.edu

James Magnuson
Principal Investigator
Psychological Sciences
Neurobiology and psychology of language, including processing, development, and disorders of spoken and written languaComputational models as theory-building tools
Developing comprehensive understanding of language and learning over the lifespan from cognitive, neural and genetic perspectives through interdisciplinary collaborations
Science communication
james.magnuson@uconn.edu


Betsy McCoach

Co-Principal Investigator
Educational Psychology
betsy.mccoach@uconn.edu


Timothy Miller

Co-Principal Investigator
Digital Media and Design
timothy.miller@uconn.edu


Emily Myers

SLAC Core Faculty
Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
Speech Perception, Aphasia, fMRI, Second Language Learning,
Perceptual Learning and Sleep
emily.myers@uconn.edu

 

Charlotte Nelson
SLAC Program Coordinator
Psychological Sciences
charlotte.nelson@uconn.edu


William Snyder

Co-Principal Investigator
Linguistics
Parametric Approaches to Language
william.snyder@uconn.edu

SLAC Affiliated Faculty

Gerry Altmann
Professsor
Psychological Sciences
gerry.altmann@uconn.edu

Adrian Garcia-Sierra
Assistant Professor
Speech, Language Hearing Sciences
brain plasticity, language development, event related potentials,
speech perception, and bilingualism

adrian.garcia-sierra@uconn.edu


Fumiko Hoeft

Professor & Director of BIRC
Psychological Sciences
Developmental cognitive neuroscience, Brain development, Multi-modal neuroimaging, Reading development, Dyslexia, Machine learning, Network analysis
fumiko.hoeft@uconn.edu


Nicole Landi

Assistant Professor
Psychological Sciences
nicole.landi@uconn.edu

Etan Markus
Professor and Associate Department Head of Graduate Studies
Psychological Sciences
Behavioral Neuroscience, Single Unit Recording, Hippocampus,
Episodic Memory, Spatial Navigation, Aging
etan.markus@uconn.edu

Jennifer Mozeiko
Assistant Professor
Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
Aphasia, Treatment, Outcomes, Intensity,
Neuroplasticity, Quality of Life.
jennifer.mozeiko@uconn.edu

Letty Naigles
Professor and DEV Division Head
Department of Psychological Sciences
Child Language Acquisition, Early Child Development,
Methods of studying language knowledge and use
leticia.naigles@uconn.edu


Alexandra Paxton
Assistant Professor
Psychological Sciences
interpersonal dynamics, social interaction, data science, research methods
alexandra.paxton@uconn.edu


Adam Sheya

Assistant Professor
Psychological Sciences
Cognition, Development, Dynamical Systems
adam.sheya@uconn.edu


Erika Skoe

Associate Professor
Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences
erika.skoe@uconn.edu


Rachel Theodore
Associate Professor
Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences
rachel.theodore@uconn.edu

 

Sumarga (Umay) Suanda
Assistant Professor
Psychological Sciences
Language Development, Word Learning, Statistical Learning, Parent-Toddler Interactions
s.suanda@uconn.edu

 

 


Eiling Yee
Assistant Professor
Psychological Sciences
eiling.yee@uconn.edu

List of People